OCCOLD RECREATIONAL AND AMENITIES COUNCIL AGM

Tuesday 9th August 2022 7.30pm Occold Village Hall

Committee members Attending: Dave Cox (Chair), Jim Deegan (Treasurer), Gill Chapman (Minute Secretary), Ted Hampson, Sandra Cox, Tina Marro, Caroline Jones, Anne Stainsby, Nigel Woodhouse.

Individuals Attending: Sara Hampson, John Davis, Ruth Davis, Colin Cripps (PCC) Barbara Merchant, Dennis Merchant, Kevin Chittock, Leigh Linnett, Peter McSloy, Russell Grange, Dan Hull, Daphne Cowan-White, Martin Cowan-White

Apologies received from: Lesley Hull, Carol Peters, Sheila Barratt, Gordon Erhorn, Jim Chapman, Stephen Hubner, Di Noller

Welcome: DC opened the meeting and welcomed everyone who had turned out for the meeting to support the village.

Minutes of the 2021 AGM: These were agreed.

Treasurer's Report Yearly report for 01.04.2021 to 31.03.2022: The report had been distributed. JD gave a brief verbal explanation of some of the items: a donation had been received from the estate of Molly Watten; the Christmas dinner had been subsidised by ORAC resulting in a loss; the Oracle magazine used to be printed free by the Research Centre but is now printed by the school at cost price.

Assets itemised: Bar Stock £230.87, Main account £11898.30, No 2 Account £5.00, Lunch Club cash £79.97, Petty Cash £835.95 Total £13050.09

B/fwd from 2021 £34279.98

Monies Out: £52328.40

Monies in: £31098.51

Shortfall: £21229.89

Balance Carried Forward at end of year: £13050.09

There were no questions from the floor.

Chairman's Report: This was distributed, copy attached. DC is standing down after 7 years as chairman. He reiterated the main points in his report. He commented that it had been hard work getting the funds in, he had enjoyed some aspects but not all. He thanked the committee for their hard work during the year and wished the new committee success. There were no questions from the floor. JD presented Dave and Sandra with a bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates and thanked them for all they have done for ORAC during the time of their involvement.

Election of new Committee: 5 members were standing down: Dave Cox, Sandra Cox, Jim Deegan, Anne Stainsby and Tina Marro

There were no volunteers for the roles of Chairman or Secretary.

Gill Chapman was prepared to stand as Treasurer, Proposed by Caroline Jones, Seconded by Ted Hampson.

New members were then welcomed from the floor:

John Davis proposed Anne Stainsby, Seconded Ted Hampson
Dan Hull proposed Ted Hampson, Seconded Nigel Woodhouse

Carol Peters proposed Ted Hampson, Seconded Sara Hampson, Carol had

previously notified of her willingness to stand

Russell Grange proposed Ted Hampson, Seconded Sara Hampson Gordon Erhorn will be co-opted at the next meeting due to his absence.

The remaining committee members –Ted Hampson, Nigel Woodhouse and Caroline Jones were elected en bloc, proposed Sara Hampson, seconded Ruth Davis.

Ted Hampson agreed to act as chair for the remainder of the meeting and spoke of the outstanding opportunity to move on and rebuild our finances. We have had some very successful recent events – the Jubilee celebrations and quiz night to build on and he looks forward to working with the new committee to the future success for ORAC.

AOB: none

Residents were thanked for coming. Meeting closed at approx. 8.30pm

The new committee remained to share their contact details and arrange their initial meeting for Monday 15th August at 7.30pm in the village hall.